Weekend writing distractions

I write for a living.  Corporate communications, marketing brochures, that kind of thing.  But these days I live for a different kind of writing…working on my YA fantasy book series.  Most of it gets written on weekends.

A whole weekend stretching before me.  On Friday after work, I feel as though I could finish my entire WIP, even though I’m only one-third of the way through.  By Friday night, I’m usually relaxed and writing.  Saturday morning I get up, full of plans.  So why is it that the weekends tend to slip away, without me reaching my writing goals?  I’m far too busy to participate in #nanowrimo, plus I want to concentrate on current WIP, so I settle for a series of #nanowriwknd instead.  Even that may be beyond me.  I can’t even bring myself to set a goal because I know I’ll never reach it.

One recent weekend, I kept track of all my distractions in an attempt to analyze what is keeping me from my writing.

Friday, 5:20 p.m. – Daughter pleads to go see Grandma’s adorable kittens.  We hop in the car and go play with them, then admire Grandma’s new furniture and get invited to go out to dinner.

Friday, 7:00 p.m. – Friend drops off tickets to middle school musical (ironically, High School Musical).  Daughter (who wants to be in the production next year when she hits middle school) insists on going and is riveted to the show the entire time.

Friday, 9:50 p.m. – Finally get home from LONG but fabulous (really) production.  Husband has bottle of wine ready and wants to talk about son’s hockey tryouts.  (Yes, I keep that wine far far away from all family laptops now.)

Friday, 12:30 p.m. – Finish evening in which I wrote a total of approximately 50 words on a notepad whenever my husband left the room.

Saturday, 9:00 a.m. – After second cup of coffee, have to get daughter up to let out the dog she’s watching.  End up taking that dog plus our dog on a long walk together.

Saturday, 11:00 a.m. – Finally sit down to write.  Must check twitter.  End up on tweetchat.  Write 459 words between tweets at 11:15 and 11:45.

Saturday, 12:00 noon – Put in a load of laundry and make lunch.

Saturday, 1:00 p.m. – Back at computer and write another 87 words, then have to stop to conduct research on bomb-sniffing dog training.  (For the book; don’t ask.)

Saturday, 1:30 p.m. – Troubled by distractions, decide to work on blog post instead. 

Saturday, 2:00 p.m. – Just about to give up.  I think this section of my book must be boring, or I’d want to write it.

Saturday, 3:00 p.m. – I do give up, after finally managing to eek out a few more words and reordering some things that needed to be reordered.  I watch the Buckeyes, say yes to my daughter having a friend for a sleepover, and go pick up pizza.  Watch a movie, watch Taylor Swift on Saturday night live, and the day is OVER.

Sunday, 8:00 a.m. – Get up to make pancakes for kids.  Take dogs for walk.  Shower and get ready to go shop with mom and daughter.  Perhaps this p.m. there will be time for writing.

I won’t continue.  You can see where this is going.  By Sunday night, I hadn’t written more than 800 words. 

This weekend should prove no different.  I’ll be tired tomorrow night (due to New Moon premiere tonight) and there’ll be my son’s hockey game and the OSU-Michigan game to be watched.  But, eventually, I WILL get the current WIP written and will feel very proud of myself for cutting through all the distractions!

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Weekend writing distractions”

  1. sarahwinters Says:

    Hello,
    I stumbled onto your page by way of ‘tag surfing.’
    I find this type of ‘writers block’ so difficult to deal with. I’m sorry and I fully understand.
    Good luck this weekend,
    Sarah

  2. Lis Garrett Says:

    It’s a rare weekend when I get any writing done. Errands, kids, husband, house, chores . . . they all need tending. All my writing/revising is done in short 10-15 minute increments until someone or something calls me back to reality.

    I hear ya!

  3. Pam Says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwww! Sooooooooooo cute!!!- Pam

Leave a Reply

